(navigation image)
Home Audio Books & Poetry | Community Audio | Computers & Technology | Grateful Dead | Live Music Archive | Music, Arts & Culture | Netlabels | News & Public Affairs | Non-English Audio | Podcasts | Radio Programs | Spirituality & Religion | The Shady Trees | BRYAC Funk Allstars
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)

Listen to audio

item image
Run time: 1:06:37

Stream (help[help])

VBR M3U (Hi-Fi)
64Kbps M3U (Lo-Fi)

Play / Download (help[help])

(30.6 M)64Kbps MP3 ZIP
(85.2 M)VBR ZIP
(334.0 M)Flac ZIP

Ogg Vorbis

Lossless zip

All Files: HTTPS Torrent (2/0)



GeorgiaGeorgia - Nothing New [MMM013] (May 29, 2005)

something has gone horribly wrong 8-p
Prefer flash? · Embed · Questions/Feedback?

mmm013.jpgThis CD compiles the original Nothing New release from Toronto duo Georgia issued in 2000 and adds 4 tracks (2 previously unreleased).

From the lesser-known Sesame Street cover, "I Don't Want to Live on the Moon" (originally performed by Ernie) to the ethereal "Highway Soul (Miracle Mix)" the album brings in outside talents of Wendal's Jef McLarnon and Oval-Teen's Brad Davis to reach levels far beyond their scrappy debut cassette released three years prior.

Also, check out these other fine My Mean Magpie Releases.

This audio is part of the collection: My Mean Magpie
It also belongs to collection: Netlabels

Artist/Composer: Georgia
Date: 2005-05-29 00:00:00
Keywords: lo-fi amateur pop; indie-pop

Creative Commons license: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike


All tracks written and recorded between 1996-2000 by Georgia except where noted. Additional mixing assistance by Brad Davis on Tracks 1-15. Tracks 16, 18, and 19 Mixed by Five Seventeen in 2000. Track 17 was mixed in April 2005 by Five Seventeen and is previously unreleased. 03 additional production and intrumentation by Brad Davis of Oval-Teen. Lead guitar on 08 by Jef McLarnen.

Track 04 written by J. Moss ©1978, 07 written by Nancy Ogilvie ©1996. 16 written by The Beat Happening (1988) and recorded for a never-released Beat Happening Tribute on Pass The Buck Cassettes. 18 written by Eric's Trip (1994), originally appeared on "The Eric's Trip Show" CS (Paper Heart Recordings), reading by "The b."

01 & 15 contain an answering machine sample intended for St. Joseph's Health Centre. 04 contains a sample from Section 25's "Friendly Fires." 05 contains a sample from The Foundations' "Am I Groovin' You?" 07 contains a sample from Carla Thomas' "When Tomorrow Comes." 10 contains a lyric from Kymbliss' "An April Secret."

19 appeared first on "Hey It's My Birthday" CS on Happy Happy Birthday to Me Records. An early version of 05 appears on 5MP's Sissy Factor CS (MMM017).

Individual Files

Whole Item FormatSize
mmm013_64kb.m3u 64Kbps M3U Stream
mmm013_64kb_mp3.zip 64Kbps MP3 ZIP 30.6 MB
mmm013_flac.zip Flac ZIP 334.0 MB
mmm013_vbr.m3u VBR M3U Stream
mmm013_vbr_mp3.zip VBR ZIP 85.2 MB
Audio Files Flac Ogg Vorbis 64Kbps MP3 VBR MP3
London 9.8 MB
1.9 MB
1.1 MB
3.2 MB
Nothing New 11.1 MB
2.2 MB
1.3 MB
3.7 MB
Highway Soul (Debris Miracle Mix) 20.9 MB
3.1 MB
1.5 MB
4.4 MB
I Don't Want to Live on the Moon 16.4 MB
2.7 MB
1.5 MB
4.1 MB
Breadlady 18.5 MB
3.4 MB
1.9 MB
5.2 MB
6 Double 0 12.5 MB
2.2 MB
1.1 MB
3.2 MB
Amazing 14.7 MB
2.4 MB
1.3 MB
3.5 MB
Charlotte 25.1 MB
4.0 MB
2.1 MB
5.8 MB
Easy Does It 14.9 MB
2.8 MB
1.4 MB
3.9 MB
Unfair Fight 26.6 MB
4.3 MB
2.2 MB
6.6 MB
Souvenier No. 3 12.3 MB
2.2 MB
1.1 MB
3.3 MB
Two Stars 12.7 MB
2.6 MB
1.4 MB
3.8 MB
Northern States 49.6 MB
8.3 MB
4.2 MB
12.3 MB
Stupid Mental Block 12.3 MB
2.7 MB
1.6 MB
3.3 MB
Answering Machine Message 4.7 MB
819.5 KB
417.7 KB
1.1 MB
The This Many Boyfriends Club 15.3 MB
2.6 MB
1.5 MB
3.7 MB
One Last Fuck 20.4 MB
3.6 MB
2.1 MB
5.7 MB
Stupidest Thing 20.8 MB
3.4 MB
1.7 MB
4.9 MB
Highway Soul 15.4 MB
2.5 MB
1.3 MB
3.7 MB
Image Files JPEG
Cover Image 10.5 KB
Cover Image (Large) 79.2 KB
Information FormatSize
mmm013_files.xml Metadata [file]
mmm013_meta.xml Metadata 3.0 KB
mmm013_reviews.xml Metadata 1.4 KB
Other Files PDF Archive BitTorrent
Printable Cover Artwork 6.2 MB
mmm013_archive.torrent 49.2 KB

Write a review
Downloaded 19,302 times
Average Rating: 4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars

Reviewer: JustinM - 4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars - January 8, 2006
Subject: Sweeeeeet...
Interesting blend of a slow-moving folk & indie experimental. I like the feel of these songs. With a lot of this minimally-produced stuff, the emotion figures bigger than the 'technique' or the 'quality' of the recording process. If you can live with that, you'll enjoy.

Reviewer: rjnagle - 4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars - August 17, 2005
Subject: hypnotic power of Northern Lights
the Northern Lights track is amazingly hypnotic. This song (as well as the others) can grow on you.

The songs are slow, minimalist, psychodelic, sometimes a little monotonous and atonal. A little like No lo tengo, cocteau twins or Dream Pop. Some of the pieces are insubstantial, but the overall package is quite nice.

another strange thing. Some of the times for the tracks are completely off. My winamp shows Northern States as 53 minutes long, (which is really 9 minutes).